Sofia Coppola was the big winner of the Cannes Film Festival 2017 as she picked up the award for Best Director for The Beguiled. In doing so, she made history as only the SECOND woman in the festival’s history to scoop the accolade. The first recipient was Yuliya Solntseva, the Soviet filmmaker of 1961’s The Chronicle of Flaming Years.

The last time Coppola was in contention for the award was in 2006, when she brought Marie Antoinette to the festival. The film was largely panned both by critics and movie goers, and so many believe her victory this year is extra special.

As Coppola was not on hand to collect the award herself, a pre-written speech was read out to those present at the ceremony. In it, Coppola thanked Jane Campion, the only female director to win the Palme d’Or, for “being a role model and supporting women filmmakers.”

The Beguiled, a feminist adaptation of the 1971 film of the same name starring Clint Eastwood, which features Elle Fanning and Kirsten Dunst among its cast, has already been widely praised by critics and is set for release in selected US cinemas on June 23rd.

A full list of the other films/stars that picked up awards at the ceremony can be found below.

Palme d’Or: The Square

Grand Prix: Beats Per Minute (BPM)

Jury Prize: Loveless

Best Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Best Screenplay: The Killing of a Sacred Deer and You Were Never Really Here (tie)

Camera d’Or: Jeune Femme/Montparnasse Bienvenue (directed by Leonor Serraille)

70th Anniversary Prize: Nicole Kidman

Short Film Palme d’Or: Xiao Cheng Er Yue (A Gentle Night), directed by Qiu Yang

Queer Palm (Feature): BPM (Beats Per Minute), Robin Campillo

Queer Palm (Short): Islands, Yann Gonzalez

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply


The 60th Grammy Awards nominations have been announced.

Music’s biggest night in America is set to air live from New York’s Madison Square Garden next year on January 28 on CBS.

Jay-Z leads the nominations with eight, followed by Kendrick Lamar with seven and Bruno Mars with six.

Here is the full list of nominees for the 60th Grammy Awards:

Record Of The Year:
“Redbone” – Childish Gambino
“Despacito” – Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber
“The Story Of O.J.” – Jay-Z
“HUMBLE.” – Kendrick Lamar
“24K Magic” – Bruno Mars

Album Of The Year:
“Awaken, My Love!” – Childish Gambino
“4:44” –  Jay-Z
“DAMN.” – Kendrick Lamar
“Melodrama” – Lorde
“24K Magic” – Bruno Mars

Song Of The Year:
“Despacito” – Ramón Ayala, Justin Bieber, Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd, Erika Ender, Luis Fonsi & Marty James Garton, songwriters (Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber)
“4:44” – Shawn Carter & Dion Wilson, songwriters (Jay-Z)
“Issues” – Benny Blanco, Mikkel Storleer Eriksen, Tor Erik Hermansen, Julia Michaels & Justin Drew Tranter, songwriters (Julia Michaels)
“1-800-273-8255” – Alessia Caracciolo, Sir Robert Bryson Hall II, Arjun Ivatury & Khalid Robinson, songwriters (Logic Featuring Alessia Cara & Khalid)
“That’s What I Like” – Christopher Brody Brown, James Fauntleroy, Philip Lawrence, Bruno Mars, Ray Charles McCullough II, Jeremy Reeves, Ray Romulus & Jonathan Yip, songwriters (Bruno Mars)

Best New Artist:
Alessia Cara
Lil Uzi Vert
Julia Michaels

Best Pop Solo Performance:
“Love So Soft” – Kelly Clarkson
“Praying” – Kesha
“Million Reasons” – Lady Gaga
“What About Us” – P!nk
“Shape Of You” – Ed Sheeran

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance:
“Something Just Like This” – The Chainsmokers & Coldplay
“Despacito” – Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber
“Thunder” – Imagine Dragons
“Feel It Still” – Portugal. The Man
“Stay” – Zedd & Alessia Cara

Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album:
“Nobody But Me (Deluxe Version)” – Michael Bublé
“Triplicate” – Bob Dylan
“In Full Swing” – Seth MacFarlane
“Wonderland” – Sarah McLachlan
“Tony Bennett Celebrates 90” – (Various Artists) Dae Bennett, Producer

Best Pop Vocal Album:
“Kaleidoscope EP” – Coldplay
“Lust For Life” – Lana Del Rey
“Evolve” – Imagine Dragons
“Rainbow” – Kesha
“Joanne” – Lady Gaga
“÷” – Ed Sheeran

Best Dance Recording:
“Bambro Koyo Ganda” – Bonobo Featuring Innov Gnawa
“Cola” – Camelphat & Elderbrook
“Andromeda” – Gorillaz Featuring DRAM
“Tonite” – LCD Soundsystem
“Line Of Sight” – Odesza Featuring WYNNE & Mansionair

Best Dance/Electronic Album:
“Migration” – Bonobo
“3-D The Catalogue” – Kraftwerk
“Mura Masa” – Mura Masa
“A Moment Apart” – Odesza
“What Now” – Sylvan Esso

Best Contemporary Instrumental Album:
“What If” – The Jerry Douglas Band
“Spirit” – Alex Han
“Mount Royal” – Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge
“Prototype” – Jeff Lorber Fusion
“Bad Hombre” – Antonio Sanchez


Following on the heels of Cars 3 and Finding Dory, Pixar has officially announced that The Incredibles! are coming back in 2018!

The original Incredibles movie followed the adventures of a normal all American family where the parents just so happened to have been world famous super heroes and who now must hide their powers from a world that doesn’t understand them! Now, Pixar has released the teaser for their upcoming sequel.